Polkadot常见问题

arrow_upward
技术
  • Polkadot是什么? keyboard_arrow_right

    Polkadot是一个允许区块链之间以无需信任的方式传递消息和价值的 平台,不同区块链间共享他们不同的特征同时共享安全性。 简单的说,Polkadot是一个可扩展的,异构多链技术。

    Polkadot是异构的,因为它非常灵活,包容网络里的各种类型的链。 即使非区块链系统或者数据结构只要满足一组条件,他们也可以成为平行链。

    Polkadot也许可以等同一组独立的链(比如一组包括以太坊,以太坊经典, 域名币,比特币)但加入了一个重要的功能:合并的安全性和无需信 任的跨链交易能力。

    与之前提供不同通用性的单链区块链实现不同,Polkadot提供一条中继链, 可以托管多种不同的数据结构。我们称这种数据结构并行链或平行链。 Polkadot提供网络和共识层,允许区块链开发者专注于创建特色功能, 比如形式化验证和匿名。

    Pokadot由许多具有潜在差异化特性的平行链组成。交易可以分散在各条链上, 允许在同样的时间内处理更多的交易。Polkadot保证所有网络内的区块链的安全, 他们之间的协议也得到忠实的执行。所有的平行链共享安全性和状态, 这意味着当在一条链上回滚了某个消息,所有的链都会回滚。 同时其他拥有自己验证节点的独立的链也可以通过桥连接到Polkadot上,从而使Polkadot的共享状态和安全系统得以实现。 这些链可以受益于Polkadot的互操作性,而不需要托管在平台上,例如比特币和以太坊。

  • Polkadot让区块链实验变为可能,就像以太坊让去中心应用的实验变为可能一样。 Polkadot的设计目标是加速创新周期,特别是实验新的状态转移功能。 考虑搭建一条区块链时要做很多协调,从数量繁多并多种多样的Web3项目 中很明显可以看出,任何人都没有一个囊括所有链的架构。Polkadot将让 我们更快的过渡到一个一般性的架构。

    Polkadot一个主要的应用是实现链之间的交互,而不必考虑他们的特征或 是私链还是公链。交互性让多类型的链之间随意交流,包括价值交流。 这种交互性可以包括隐私导向的项目,分叉链,需授权链等等。Polkadot 让任何人都能够把公链或私链接入一个共享的连接层。接入的链可以 保持自己的验证节点或者使用Polkadot提供的中继链共享安全体系来验证交易。Polkadot可以让一条链的特性被另一条所利用。 换句话说,一条链上的创新,让所有链都受益。

  • Polkadot网络对可接入的链没有一个特别的限制,而是设计为可扩展的。 最初的预测表明,基本的Polkadot设计可以处理至少几十条甚至可能几百条平行链。 其他设计可以支持加强的模型。比如Polkadot可以设计为递归的模式, 把链接到Polkadot上的链变为迷你Polkadot。这种模式一旦引入, 无法想象Polkadot上连接的链的上限,可以处理的交易数也是如此。
  • Polkadot可以连接现存的区块链,只要满足以下两个条件

    1. 必须能够对区块和状态变化信息的确定性和合法性形成简短而快速的 轻客户端证明(这包括在类似比特币链中的新UTXO和以太坊类似链中的日志)。
    2. 必须有某种方式让一组的独立机构(不超过1000)可以授权交易。 这可以包括阀值签名,比如Shnorr方案,或者针对多签条件的构造逻辑的智能合约。

    比特币和类似比特币的链都无法达到这些特性。为了满足第一个要求, Polkadot的验证节点可以简单的运行一个比特币全节点。为了满足第二个要求, 需要一个软分叉来实现更多协议中对资金的控制的功能,或者硬分叉来 加入允许阀值签名的签名方案比如Schnorr。这两者都不是不可能实现的目标,然而需要大量的组合来实现。

    以太坊符合这些要求,特别是大都会协议升级后,因此集成应该是可能的。

    私有的权威验证的链一般满足第一个特征,因为权威证明区块的合法性, 合法性的证明不仅仅是校验签名。第二种可能的是有智能合约或门限签名 的类似以太坊的链。例如Hyperledger和Quorum等非以太坊链间的互通也是可行的。

    Polkadot最契合用平行链模型设计的新的区块链。在这个模式下, Polkadot管理链的共识和验证活动。一条平行链是一个集成在Polkadot 网络中的成员并从即时的确定性和公正验证中受益(与造成DAO硬分叉的获益验证相反)。 平行链不需要保护自己,因此能够完全的关注本身状态机的创新。

  • 平行链定义为参与Polkadot的平行的链。Polkadot上支持的原生区块链 通过大网络的共识机制达成共识,同时贡献并受益于整体的共建安全性。

    桥是一个连接现有的区块链的状态历史和共识方法到Polkadot的连接层, 而不是一条原生平行链。这些包括比特币和以太坊。

  • Polkadot通过设计激励DOT的持有者活跃参与Polkadot(DOT将在DOTs部分解释)。 活跃的参与在这里意味着DOT的持有者在Polkadot扮演以下一个或多个角色。

    • 验证人: 这些参与者将扮演一个至关重要的角色,他们在中继链上加入新的区块, 并通过延长所有的平行链,这样各方可以通过中继链完成跨连交易。验证者执行两个功能。 第一,验证包含在一组指定的平行链区块中的信息是合法的(比如交易各方的身份和合约的主题)。 第二个角色是参与共识机制,基于其他验证者的合法性的判断,来生产中继链上合法的区块。 发生任何不合共识算法的事件,验证人都会收到剥夺部分或者全部质押的DOTs的惩罚, 以此防止恶意验证人。验证人正确履行支持将得到奖励,验证人通过工作来交换以DOTs为形式的交易费。
    • 提名人:这些参与者通过向验证人的保证金做贡献来提名验证人来代 表他们进行验证工作。预计很可能大部分的DOTs将在任何时间都被质 押在验证人那里。把DOTs质押给验证人的保证金需要提名人进行尽职 调查和长期的分析来选择最有可能按Polkadot的规则履行职责的验证人。 根据保证金的增长或消耗,提名人的DOTs也按贡献比例得到增加或减少。
    • 校对人:这些参与者在平行链上根据平行链的交易提供证明给验证人。 维持平行链的校对人把平行链的交易集成区块并根据这些区块产生状态转移的证明, 提供给验证人。他们也关注网络情况,向验证人证明恶意行为。 校对人为一个特定的平行链维持一个全节点‘意味着他们保持所有所需信息来创建新 的区块并像现有的工作证明的区块链上的矿工一样执行交易。正常情况下, 他们通过校对执行交易来创建一个未开封的区块,向一个或多个负责提出区块的验证人交付, 并给出一个零知识证。
    • 渔夫:这些参与者不像验证人或者提名人那样直接参与验证, 而是通过观察整个平台上的各种活动来判断其他参与者是否违规进而阻止恶意行为。 渔夫需要提供少得多的DOTs做保证金,但能按比例收到大得多的DOT奖励 (和验证人及提名人比较),奖励和保证金成正比。
  • Polkadot网络的第一个可行性验证,POC-1,已于2018年5月发布。 发布的主题是中继链的开发,也是Polkadot的神经中枢。

    可行性验证2,POC-2,作为第一个链上升级,在2018年7月发布, 通过测试网的用户全民投票实现了第一次现实世界的链上升级, 从POC-1升级到POC-2.POC-2引入了开发平行链的能力,验证人的 质押奖励和惩罚,还有第一个Rust编写的Libp2p。

    POC-3测试网发布于2019年1月,它包括了GRANDPA共识算法

    POC-4发布于2019年4月,带来了新的质押特色,是运行验证人节点更安全并灵活。

    关注平台最新的代码库,访问Polkadot的测试网界面,今天就开始使用Polkadot。

  • 前往测试网,点击创建账户。当保存了密码后,把公钥贴到Riot频道。
社区
  • 如何加入社区? keyboard_arrow_right
    Polkadot是一个开源的项目,社区长期需要志愿者的支持。 我们很想听到你们的想法,回答你们的问题!可以在Reddit和Riot找到我们, 也可以在Twitter上关注我们。
  • 如何支持Polkadot? keyboard_arrow_right
    有很多方式给Polkadot社区做贡献。无论你想安装测试Polkadot, 还是加入大使计划,组织一个当地的聚会,或者为线上社区做贡献, 现在就加入我们的媒体频道开始吧。Riot和Reddit是很好的出发点。
团队
  • 谁在建设Polkadot? keyboard_arrow_right

    Web3基金会让Parity技术公司承包了Polkadot的Rust和Javascript版本的开发。

    Gavin Wood博士,以太坊的创始人之一,Robert Habermeier, 2018年的Thiel伙伴,是Polkadot的共同创始人和项目核心开发者。 可以在Github的代码库里看到其他的贡献者提交的代码。

    Web3基金会正在和其他感兴趣的团队合作开发平台的其他版本, 核心Polkadot(比如校对者节点,验证人节点,中继链)和生态系统 建设(比如区块浏览器,节点浏览器,钱包等)

    如果有兴趣为社区做贡献,请在Riot上联系Web3基金会

  • 谁在为Polkadot工作 keyboard_arrow_right

    Polkadot是一个开源项目,任何人都可以为平台的开发做贡献

    除了开源社区,Web3基金会雇佣了研究团队和社区管理人员 来促进长期的开发和平台的落地。Web3的研究人员包括共识机制和 去中心化通讯的专家。社区团队管理社区建设, 包括组织Web3峰会和管理Polkadot线上和线下的活动。

  • 透过press@polkadot.network的邮件联系团队成员
Web3基金会
  • Web3基金会是什么? keyboard_arrow_right

    Web3基金会是一个瑞士的基金会,根据瑞士民法第80条建立。 Web3基金会由Gavin Wood博士建立,专注于开发,部署和维护Web3。 Web3基金会促进在密码学赋能的去中心化软件协议方面创新技术和应用的开发。

    Web3基金会的目标是在Web3技术栈的各个层面培养和服务最先进的 技术和应用。Web3的核心是研究,开发,部署,资助和维护Web3技术 ,并支持,教育,使开发者接受,支持中间件和底层的演示应用。

    Web3基金会的理事会使Web3的治理实体,负责Web3基金会的管理。 Web3基金会理事会的现有成员有Gavin Wood博士(主席和创始人), Aeron Buchanan博士(副主席)和Reto Trinkler

    瑞士基金会受到联邦或州的强制监管。Web3基金会的申请被瑞士联邦基金监管局于2018年7月批准。

  • Web3基金会有意使用大部分出售DOT得到的资金来资助Web3技术的开发,包括Polkadot

    Web3基金会不是一个软件开发公司,所以会和第三方开发者合作。 Web3基金会和Parity Technologies达成了软件开发合约。然而, Web3基金会和Parity Techonologies之间没有直接关联,而且有可靠的手段保证决策的公允。

  • 受到影响的多签钱包并没有存放所有Web3的资金。基金会按照原有 时间线建设Polkadot,并没有受到影响。关于这个信息, 请参照Web3基金会下面相关的博客。

    1. Web3 Multi-Sig Wallet Update
    2. Update on the Web3 Foundation
风险因素
  • 如果Polkadot没有成功开发,或者部署,第一轮公售的参与者可能拿 不到任何DOT。这种情况下,第一轮的参与者将损失他们参与第一轮的 资金的所有价值。更多细节请参照规则与条例。
  • Polkadot的开发可能不成功,或者无法达到预想的功能,Polkadot的创世节点也许不会像预期的那样部署。

    Polkadot还在非常早期的开发阶段。Web3基金会可能会因为某种合法的 理由改变Polkadot或者DOT的规格,或Web基金会无法在开发中实现 这些规格,或开发的网络功能不全。根据Polkadot成功开发和创世区块 部署的状况,Polakdot和DOT,或两者之一可能和预期的不一样,或者 和白皮书里描述的不符。此外,即使Web3基金会全力以赴,Polkadot的 创世区块成功部署,并持续开发和维护Polkadot,Polkadot也可能会 出现功能障碍,或者开发或维护不完全,这些情况会对Polkadot和DOT产生负面影响。

    Polkadot的开发需要大量的资金支持,专业知识以及Web3基金会的时间和精力。 Polkadot也许需要超过Web3基金会现在预期的资金和时间来完成开发, 因此可能会造成开发停止甚至取消。如果Web3基金会未成功开发Polkadot, 给用户演示足够的应用价值,对于DOT的需求可能不足以让Web3基金 会完成创世区块的部署。Polkadot创世区块如果不出现,参与者可能会损失跟DOT发售相关的所有资金。

    Polkadot也许不会按照预期部署

    因为Polkadot去中心化的性质,Polkadot按照预期部署是没有保证的。 因为DOT是Polkadot的原生代币,无论是作为创世区块的一部分还是 按照其他方式,如果没有创世区块的化,他们也不会存在

    Web3基金会也许不能和他们认可的软件开发者合作

    Web3基金会也许不具备或者不能获得成功开发Polkadot和推进到部署 Polkadot创世区块阶段的技术能力和专业知识。有足够资历管理, 技术,科学,研究和市场开发人员匮乏也可能导致无法开发和维护Polkadot

  • DOT本身的风险 keyboard_arrow_right

    通胀可能会造成DOT实质性的稀释,降低被动参与者所持有的比例。

    不参加验证,提名,校对,或渔夫功能的被动DOT持有者,会发现 他们的DOT在更多新产生的DOT进入系统之后受到稀释,虽然通胀 的模型还没确认。一段时间后,这可能会让被动持有者的DOT的 百分比逐渐下降,接近为零。

    DOT持有者之间的法律关系的性质还有不确定性

    DOT持有者之间的法律关系以及DOT持有者的责任和义务还有不确定性

    监管部门对待DOT的态度还有不确定性

    代币出售是一个新生的行为,监管部门和政府对于DOT的态度有不确定性, 而且可能在不同的立法区域之间变化。法律和监管对于DOT的态度未来 很可能变化,也许将会对DOT的法律地位,经济价值(如果有的化) 和流动性产生恶性冲击,开发和治理功能,和Web3基金会本身可能也会受到影响。

有关建立在Polkadot上的问题? 有关建立在Polkadot上的问题?

Polkadot FAQ

arrow_upward
Technology
  • What is Polkadot? keyboard_arrow_right

    Polkadot is a platform that allows diverse blockchains to transfer messages, including value, in a trust-free fashion; sharing their unique features while pooling their security. In brief, Polkadot is a scalable, heterogeneous, multi-chain technology.

    Polkadot is heterogeneous because it is entirely flexible and makes no assumptions about the nature or structure of the chains in the network. Even non-blockchain systems or data structures can become parachains if they fulfill a set of criteria.

    Polkadot may be considered equivalent to a set of independent chains (e.g. a set containing Ethereum, Ethereum Classic, Namecoin and Bitcoin) except with important additions: pooled security and trust-free interchain transactability.

    Unlike previous blockchain implementations that provide a single chain of varying degrees of generality, Polkadot provides a Relay Chain upon which a large number of verifiable data structures may be hosted. We call these data-structures “parallelized” chains or parachains. Polkadot provides a networking and consensus layer that allows blockchain developers to focus on creating a state machine with unique features, such as formal verification or anonymity.

    Polkadot consists of many parachains with potentially differing characteristics. Transactions can be spread out across the chains, allowing many more transactions to be processed in the same period of time. Polkadot ensures that the security of all blockchains in the network is robust and that any dealings between them are faithfully executed. All parachains share security and state, meaning if one chain has a message reverted, all chains get reverted. It is also possible for independent chains with their own validators to be linked to Polkadot via bridges, thereby foregoing Polkadot’s shared state and security system. These chains can benefit from Polkadot’s interoperability without being hosted on the platform, examples of these would be Bitcoin and Ethereum.

  • Why do we need Polkadot? keyboard_arrow_right

    Polkadot makes blockchain experimentation possible in the same way Ethereum made decentralised application (DApp) experimentation possible. Polkadot is designed to facilitate faster innovation cycles, particularly when experimenting with new state transition functions. There are many trade-offs to consider when building a blockchain, and it’s clear from the number and diversity of the various Web3 projects that nobody has a framework that ecompasses all chains. Polkadot is a vehicle that can get us to a general framework faster.

    A primary use case for Polkadot is enabling interoperability between chains, regardless of their features or their status as a private or public chain. Interoperability lets diverse chains perform arbitrary messaging, including value. This interconnectivity could encompass privacy-oriented projects, forks, permissioned chains and more. Polkadot allows all parties to take public and private chains and "plug them in" to a shared connectivity layer. Chains can choose to maintain their own validator set or utilize Polkadot’s pooled security system to verify their transactions via the Relay Chain. With Polkadot the features of one chain can be leveraged on another. In other words, where there is innovation for one, there is innovation for all.

  • There is no specific limit to the number of chains that can be connected to the Polkadot network, which is scalable by design. Initial predictions suggest the basic Polkadot design will be able to handle at least dozens and perhaps hundreds of parachains. There are also paths to more enhanced models. For example, there is no reason why Polkadot cannot be composed in a recursive fashion, making some of the chains that Polkadot connects be themselves "mini Polkadots." Should this be introduced, it is difficult to imagine an upper limit on the number of chains it could connect and thus the number of transactions it could process.
  • Polkadot can connect any previously existing blockchain if it matches two criteria:

    1. It must have the ability to form compact and fast light-client proofs over the finality and validity of its blocks and state change information (this would include new UTXOs in a Bitcoin-like chain or logs in an Ethereum-like chain).
    2. There must be a means by which a large set of independent authorities (perhaps up to one thousand) can authorise a transaction. This could include recognition of threshold signatures, such as the Schnorr scheme, or a smart contract able to structure logic against a multi-signature condition.

    Bitcoin and Bitcoin-like chains fall short on these characteristics. To address the first criteria, Polkadot validators can simply run a full Bitcoin node. To address the second criteria, either a soft-fork allowing extra-protocol controls over funds or a hard-fork enabling a threshold-signature-friendly signing scheme such as Schnorr is needed. Neither are impossible goals, however a significant degree coordination would be required to achieve them.

    Ethereum conforms to these characteristics, particularly after the Metropolis protocol update, and therefore integration should be possible.

    Private "proof-of-authority" (PoA) chains generally fulfill the first characteristic, since authorities attest to the validity of blocks, and the proof-of-validity attestation is little more than checking signatures. The second is possible Ethereum-like chains that have either smart contracts or threshold signature schemes. Interoperability with non-Ethereum blockchains such as Hyperledger and Quorum is feasible.

    Where Polkadot works best is connecting new blockchains expressly designed to fit the parachain model. Under this model, Polkadot manages the chain's consensus and validation activities. A parachain is an integrated member of the Polkadot network and benefits from immediate finality and disinterested validation (as opposed to the "interested" validation that facilitated the DAO hard fork). Parachains need not secure themselves, and are therefore free to focus purely on innovating in terms of its state machines.

  • Parachains are the name given to the parallelized chains that participate in the Polkadot network. Polkadot’s natively supported blockchains achieve consensus using the greater network’s consensus mechanism, both adding to and benefiting from pooled security.

    Bridges are connecting layers that will enable existing blockchains with their own state histories and methods of consensus to link with Polkadot without having to be a native parachain. These include Bitcoin and Ethereum.

  • Polkadot is designed to encourage active participation in Polkadot by holders of DOTs (DOTs are explained in the “DOTs” section). Active participation in this context involves a holder of DOTs performing one or more of the following roles within Polkadot:

    • Validators: These participants will play a crucial role in adding new blocks to the Relay Chain and, by extension to all parachains, such that parties can complete cross-chain transactions via the Relay Chain. Validators perform two functions. First, verifying the information contained in an assigned set of parachain blocks is valid (such as the identities of the transacting parties and the subject matter of the contract). Their second role is to participate in the consensus mechanism to produce the Relay Chain blocks based on validity statements from other validators. Any instances of non-compliance with the consensus algorithms result in punishment by removal of some or all of the validator’s staked DOTs, thereby discouraging bad actors. Good performance, however, will be rewarded, with validators receiving transaction fees in the form of DOTs in exchange for their activities.
    • Nominators: these participants may nominate validators to carry out validation work on their behalf by contributing to the security bond of their nominated validators. It is anticipated that a significant portion of DOTs in existence at any particular point in time are likely to be bonded to validators for the purpose staking. Bonding DOTs to a validator requires nominators to perform due diligence and constant analysis in order to select the validators which are the most likely to behave according to Polkadot’s rules. Nominators receive a pro-rata increase or reduction in their DOT holding according to the growth or depletion of the security bond to which their DOTs were contributed.
    • Collators: These participants will sit atop parachains and provide proofs to validators based on transactions from parachains. Collators maintain parachains by aggregating parachain transactions into parachain blocks and producing state transition proofs for validators based on those blocks. They also monitor the network and prove bad behaviour to validators. Collators maintain a “full-node” for a particular parachain; meaning they retain all necessary information to be able to author new blocks and execute transactions in much the same way as miners do on current PoW blockchains. Under normal circumstances, they will collate and execute transactions to create an unsealed block and provide it, together with a zero-knowledge proof, to one or more validators responsible for proposing a parachain block.
    • Fishermen: these participants are not engaged in the process of validating transactions in the same way as validators or nominators, but rather they deter bad actors by monitoring activity across the platform to determine whether any other participants have acted in breach of the rules. Fisherman will be required to provide significantly fewer DOTs by way of a security bond but can receive proportionately larger DOT rewards (in comparison to rewards received by validators and nominators) in proportion to the size of their security bond.
  • Web3 Foundation's Polkadot Wiki.
  • The Polkadot network's first Proof of Concept, POC-1, was released in May of 2018. The bulk of this release focuses on the development of the Relay Chain, the central nervous system of the Polkadot network.

    Proof of Concept 2, POC-2, followed in July 2018 as the first real-world on-chain protocol upgrade, where owners of testnet DOTs voted to approve a Referendum to upgrade the testnet from POC-1 to POC-2. POC-2 introduced the ability to develop parachains, staking rewards and slashing for validators, and the first real-world use of the Rust implementation of Libp2p.

    The POC-3 testnet launched January 2019 and includes the GRANDPA consensus algorithm.

    POC-4 launched April 2019 and brought new staking features that make running a validator on Polkadot more secure and customizable.

    See the codebase for the latest state of the platform and visit the Polkadot testnet user interface to get started using Polkadot today.

  • How do I get testnet DOTs? keyboard_arrow_right
    Navigate to the testnet and click "Create Account". Once you have saved your password, post your public address to our Riot channel.
Community
  • How can I join the community? keyboard_arrow_right
    Polkadot is open-source and the community is always looking for fellow volunteers. We'd love to hear from you or just answer your questions! Find us online on Reddit and Riot, and follow us on Twitter.
  • There are many ways you can contribute to the Polkadot community. Whether you want to install and test Polkadot, join our Ambassador program, host a meet-up in your city, or contribute to the online community, simply join our social media channels to get started! The Riot channel or Reddit is a great place to start!
Team
  • Who is building Polkadot? keyboard_arrow_right

    Web3 Foundation contracted Parity Technologies to develop the first implementations of Polkadot in Rust and JavaScript.

    Dr. Gavin Wood, Co-Founder of Ethereum and Robert Habermeier, 2018 Thiel Fellow, are Co-Founders of Polkadot and Core Developers of the project. Additional contributors can be found by viewing the “Commits” on Parity Technologies Polkadot GitHub repository.

    Web3 Foundation is coordinating with teams interested in developing additional implementations of the platform, core-polkadot (e.g. collator nodes, validator nodes, Relay Chain) and ecosystem building (e.g. block explorers, node explorers, wallets).

    Please reach out to Web3 Foundation via Riot if you are interested in contributing.

  • Polkadot is an open-source project and anyone is free to contribute to the development of the platform.

    In addition to the open source community, Web3 Foundation employs a team of researchers and community administrators to foster further development and adoption of the platform. Web3’s researchers include consensus mechanism and decentralized messaging experts. The communications team administers community building that includes organizing the first Web3 Summit and administering Polkadot’s online and offline presence.

  • Contact a member of our team at press@polkadot.network.
Web3 foundation
  • What is the Web3 Foundation? keyboard_arrow_right

    Web3 Foundation is a Swiss Stiftung established under Article 80 et seqq. of the Swiss Civil Code. The Web3 Foundation was founded by Dr. Gavin Wood and has as its focus the development, deployment and maintenance of “Web3”. Web3 Foundation promotes the development of innovative technologies and applications in the field of cryptographically-enabled decentralised software protocols.

    Web3 Foundation’s purpose is to nurture and steward cutting-edge technologies and applications at all levels of the Web3 technology stack. Web3’s principal focus is research, development, deployment, funding, and maintenance of Web3 technologies, plus advocacy and education, developer-adoption, support of middleware, and base-layer/demonstration applications.

    The Web3 Foundation Council is Web3’s governing body, responsible for the management of the Web3 Foundation. The current members of the Web3 Foundation Council are Dr. Gavin Wood (President and Founder), Dr. Aeron Buchanan (Vice President) and Reto Trinkler.

    Swiss foundations are subject to a mandatory supervision by a federal or cantonal authority. The Web3 Foundation’s application for approval by Eidgenössische Stiftungsaufsicht (Federal Foundation Supervisory Authority) was approved July 2018.

  • The Web3 Foundation intends to use a substantial amount of the proceeds from the sale of DOTs to finance the development of Web3 technologies, including Polkadot.

    Web3 Foundation is not a software development house or development shop, so it works closely with third party builders. The Web3 Foundation has entered a software development agreement with Parity Technologies under which Parity Technologies will undertake research and develop the Polkadot platform. There is, however, no group relationship between the Web3 Foundation and Parity Technologies, and robust measures are in place to ensure probity in decision making.

  • The affected multi-sig wallet did not contain all of Web3’s funds. Its ability to build Polkadot as planned and to the original timetable has not been affected. For a full statement, see the Web3 Foundation blog posts on the issue here:

    1. Web3 Multi-Sig Wallet Update
    2. Update on the Web3 Foundation
Risk factors
  • In the event that Polkadot is not successfully developed or is not deployed, participants in the first general sale may not receive any DOTs. In these circumstances, participants in the first general sale will lose the full value of funds provided in connection with the first general sale. Please refer to the Terms and Conditions for further information.
  • Polkadot may not be successfully developed or may not function as intended and the Polkadot genesis block may not be deployed as intended or at all

    Polkadot is still at a very early stage of development. The Web3 Foundation may have to make changes to the specifications of Polkadot or DOTs for any number of legitimate reasons or the Web3 Foundation may be unable to develop Polkadot in a way that realizes those specifications or any form of a functioning network. To the extent that Polkadot is successfully developed and the Polkadot genesis block is deployed, Polkadot and/or DOTs may not meet participant expectations, and may be different from those set out in the White Paper. Furthermore, despite the Web3 Foundation’s efforts to develop and deploy the Polkadot genesis block and subsequently to develop and maintain Polkadot, it is still possible that Polkadot will experience malfunctions or otherwise fail to be adequately developed or maintained, which may negatively impact Polkadot and/or DOTs.

    The development of Polkadot will require significant capital funding, expertise and the Web3 Foundation’s time and effort. Polkadot may require significantly more funding or time in development than the Web3 Foundation currently envisages, which may result in suspension or cancellation of development of Polkadot. If the Web3 Foundation is not successful in its efforts to demonstrate to users the utility and value of Polkadot, there may not be sufficient demand for DOTs for the Web3 Foundation to proceed with the deployment of the Polkadot genesis block. As a result, or if the deployment of the Polkadot genesis block does not occur, participants may lose all of the funds provided in connection with the DOT Sale.

    Polkadot may not be deployed as intended at all

    Due to the decentralised nature of Polkadot, there is no guarantee that the Polkadot genesis block (to the extent that it is developed) will be deployed as intended or at all. As DOTs are native tokens to Polkadot, they will not come into existence, whether as part of the Polkadot genesis block or otherwise, if there is no deployment of the Polkadot genesis block.

    The Web3 Foundation may not be successful in engaging the services of its preferred software developer(s)

    The Web3 Foundation may not have or may not be able to obtain the technical skills and expertise needed to successfully develop Polkadot and progress it to deploy the Polkadot genesis block. There is a general scarcity of management, technical, scientific, research and marketing personnel with appropriate training to develop and maintain Polkadot.

  • Risks associated with DOTs keyboard_arrow_right

    The inflation model will cause material dilution in the percentage holdings of DOTs for passive participants

    Passive holders of DOTs, that is holders of DOTs that do not perform validating, nominating, collating or fisherman roles within Polkadot, will see their percentage holdings of DOTs dilute over time as more DOTs come into existence as a result of the as yet determined inflation model. Over time, this may result in the dilution of a passive participant’s holdings of DOTs to close to zero in percentage terms.

    Nature of the legal relationship between holders of DOTs is uncertain

    The legal nature of the relationship (if any) between the holders of DOTs and the liabilities and obligations of holders of DOTs is uncertain.

    Regulatory treatment of DOTs is uncertain

    As the sale of tokens is a nascent practice, the treatment of DOTs by regulatory and governmental authorities is uncertain and may vary across jurisdictions. The legal and regulatory treatment of DOTs may be prone to change in the future, which may have a materially adverse impact on the legal status of DOTs, the economic value (if any) of DOTs and the liquidity of DOTs, as well as the development, function or governance of Polkadot and / or the Web3 Foundation itself.

Have a question about building on Polkadot? Ask in the Polkadot Chat